The Institute of Road Transport Engineers New Zealand began in 1969 and became an incorporated body in 1985. Whilst its role, principally as a collective voice for members, has remained consistent, its composition has certainly changed. Joining the original transport engineers are those from other engineering fields, company owners, fleet managers, manufacturers and suppliers, government officials, scientists and researchers.

Every two years, IRTENZ convenes an International Transport Conference. We host speakers from NZ and throughout the world to present on the latest developments on all transport matters; vehicle productivity and efficiency, road safety, legislation & policy and infrastructure. For further information see our Past Conferences Page

The officers of the Institute comprises of a Council of Management, a President and a National Secretary
Current Officers of the Institute are:
Chris Carr - President ( member since 1985
Dom Kalasih (Immediate Past President) ( member since 1996
Stephen Bullot ( member since 2010
John de Pont ( member since 1998
Bill Cassidy ( member since 1980
James Smith ( member since 2013
Kate Bucknell (National Secretary) ( member since 1990
Glen Mackay ( member since 2019
Alfons Reitsma ( member since 2019